Drexel BlueLine -- virtually all electronic resources in one location!
Drexel University      College of Engineering      Drexel.edu Site Map      Search Drexel.edu      Go
Skip Navigation Links
Prospective Students
Current Students
Get Involved
Contact Us
This website is no longer being maintained. For the latest news, events, and information, please visit http://www.materials.drexel.edu/.
Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > MSE Wishes 2011 Graduates Well

MSE Wishes 2011 Graduates Well

MSE honored its 2011 graduates with a commencement dinner on Thursday, June 9th at the University Club just prior to commencement ceremonies held on Friday, June 10th in the John A. Daskalakis Athletic Center.  

In addition to recognizing all graduating B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. students at the dinner, select faculty, staff, and students were honored with their contributions to the department during the 2010-2011 academic year.

Department of Materials Science and Engineering Faculty and Staff Awards

Outstanding Research Award
Steven May
Mitra Taheri

Outstanding Service Award
Richard Knight

Outstanding Teaching Award
Wei-Heng Shih

Outstanding Staff Award
Danielle Tadros

Outstanding Graduate Student Award
Amalie Donius (advisor:  Ulrike Wegst)
Gerard Klinzing (advisor:  Antonios Zavaliangos)

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award
Amanda Pentecost (advisor:  Yury Gogotsi) 

Doctor of Philosophy Degree

Xiaotong Gao
“Vibration and Flow Energy Harvesting Using Piezoelectric Cantilevers”
Supervising Professor:  Wei-Heng Shih
Current Position:  Research Engineer; Saint-Gobain Research (Shanghai) Co., Ltd.; Shanghai, China

Christopher Hovanec
“Solute Enhanced Strain Hardening of Aluminum Alloys to Achieve Improved Combinations of Strength and Toughness”
Supervising Professors:  Roger Doherty and Surya Kalidindi
Current Position:  Materials Engineer (Metallurgist); Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division (NAVAIR); Patuxent River, MD

Christopher Karwacki
“A Rational Design Approach to Nanostructured Catalysts for the Oxidation of Carbon Monoxide”
Supervising Professor:  Yury Gogotsi
Current Position:  Research Chemist; US Army; Edgewood Chemical Biological Center, Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD

Kristin Kita
“Characterization of In-Situ Curing PVA/PEG Hydrogels for Nucleus Pulposus Replacement”
Supervising Professor:  Anthony Lowman
Current Position:  Materials Science Engineer; Synthes; West Chester, PA

Murat Erdem Kurtoglu
“Effect of Doping on the Photocatalytic Electronic and Mechanical Properties of TiO2 Films”
Supervising Professor:  Yury Gogotsi
Current Position:  Postdoctoral Fellow; Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT); Cambridge, MA

Giacomo Landi
“A Novel Spectral Approach to Multi-Scale Modeling”
Supervising Professor:  Surya Kalidindi
Current Position:  Project Engineer; SKF USA Inc., SKF Industrial Division; Kulpsville, PA

Christopher Thomas Schade
“Processing, Microstructures and Properties of a Dual Phase Precipitation Hardening PM Stainless Steel”
Supervising Professors:  Roger Doherty and Alan Lawley
Current Position:  Manager-Pilot Plants; Hoeganaes Corporation; Cinnaminson, NJ

Students from other departments being supervised by MSE Faculty

Eric Michael Gallo
“Gallium Arsenide Based Metal-Semiconductor-Metal Devices and Detectors”
Supervising Professor:  Jonathan Spanier
Current Position:  NSF-ASEE Postdoctoral Research Fellow; Structured Materials Industries, Inc.; Piscataway, NJ

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Edward M. Anderson, Jr. (BS/MS)
Christopher Michael Barr (BS/MS)
Joan Burger (BS/MS)
Michael Thomas Coster (BS/MS)
Andrew William Devillier (BS/MS)
Kevin Daniel Joye
Veli Kara
Terrence McGuckin
David Leslie Miller (BS/MS)
Mohamed Mahmoud Shamma
Derrick M. Smith (BS/MS)
Carly Lynn Snyder (BS/MS)
Christopher Stanislawczyk (BS/MS)
Schraddha Jagadishbhai Vachhani

 Professor Ulrike Wegst receives the coveted SLAG Award from the 2011 B.S. graduating class.

Bachelor of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Edward M. Anderson, Jr. (Summa Cum Laude)
Christopher Michael Barr (Cum Laude)
Joan Burger (Summa Cum Laude)
Cale T. Buxton
James Francis Coffey (Magna Cum Laude)
Michael Thomas Coster (Cum Laude)
Andrew William Devillier
William Edward Frazier III (Magna Cum Laude)
Sherif Aly Madkour
Jesse David McGrath
David Leslie Miller (Magna Cum Laude; Kappa Theta Epsilon)
Farrah Brooke Moldover
Prineha Narang (Magna Cum Laude)
Garrett David Pritchyk
Bryant G. Richardson
Michael E. Scesa
Derrick M. Smith (Cum Laude)
Carly Lynn Snyder (Cum Laude)
Christopher Stanislawczyk

Added on Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Print This Article

Support Materials Education @ Drexel

Last updated Monday, March 23, 2009.