Drexel BlueLine -- virtually all electronic resources in one location!
Drexel University      College of Engineering      Drexel.edu Site Map      Search Drexel.edu      Go
Skip Navigation Links
Prospective Students
Current Students
Get Involved
Contact Us
This website is no longer being maintained. For the latest news, events, and information, please visit http://www.materials.drexel.edu/.
Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > NSF-REU Program DREAM Concludes Sixth Year

NSF-REU Program DREAM Concludes Sixth Year

 2009 DREAM Fellow Patrick Hartnett receives a gift certificate from Professor Caroline Schauer upon placing first in the REU poster contest.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) site DREAM:   Drexel Research Experience in Advanced Materials has concluded its sixth year of programming this summer under the direction of directors Professor Surya Kalidindi and Professor Antonios Zavaliangos and the coordination of Materials Program Coordinator Keiko Nakazawa.

 2009 DREAM Fellow Elizabeth Martin (left) presents her poster to a judge at the poster contest.

Ten undergraduates from nine different universities were accepted into the ten-week program for the summer of 2009.  DREAM Fellows were placed in research labs and worked closely with faculty advisors and graduate mentors on individual research projects.  Fellows also participated in a Technical Communications Workshop led by Drexel Nanotechnology Institute Director of Outreach and Development Holly Burnside and visited Synthes, a medical device company.

Concluding the program were the annual poster contest and original white paper where students propose an original research idea in the form of the two-page original research section of the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program application.  Papers are then evaluated by a peer panel consisting of current graduate fellows.

Patrick Hartnett, working with advisors Professors Wei-Heng Shih and Wan Shih and student Ryan O'Malley, took first place in the poster contest.  Amy Miller from Professor Christopher Li's lab, working with Ph.D. students Matthew Hood and Eric Laird, took second place.  Elizabeth Martin of Professor Ulrike Wegst's lab and working with Ph.D. students Amalie Oroho and Philipp Hunger, took third place.

Additionally, Elizabeth Martin, along with Michael Grimes of Professor Mitra Taheri's lab, working with Matthew Hartshorne and Christopher Winkler, had their white papers "recommended for funding" by the white paper peer review panel.  Robert Metzler working in Professor Anthony Lowman's lab and Haley Dillon of Professor Jason Baxter's group received "Honorable Mention."

Added on Monday, August 24, 2009

Print This Article

Support Materials Education @ Drexel

Last updated Monday, March 23, 2009.